Quick Links: Zimbabwe General Info – Tourist AttractionsThe GeographyVisa Requirements


Zimbabwe lies between latitudes 15° and 23°S, and longitudes 25° and 34°E. Most of the country is elevated in the central plateau (high veld) stretching from the southwest to the northwest at altitudes between 1,200 and 1,600 m. The country’s east is mountainous with Mount Nyangani as the highest point at 2,592 m. About 20% of the country consists of the low veld under 900m. Victoria Falls, one of the world’s biggest and most spectacular waterfalls, is located in the country’s northwest as part of the Zambezi river. The country has a tropical climate with a rainy season usually from late October to March.

The country is mostly savannah, although the moist and mountainous east supports tropical evergreen and hardwood forests. Trees include teak and mahogany, knobthorn, msasa and baobab. Among the numerous flowers and shrubs are hibiscus, spider lily, leonotus, cassia, tree wisteria and dombeya. There are around 350 species of mammals that can be found in Zimbabwe. There are also many snakes and lizards, over 500 bird species, and 131 fish species.

Zimbabwe has a centralised government and is divided into eight provinces and two cities with provincial status, for administrative purposes. Each province has a provincial capital from where official business is usually carried out


Bulawayo: Bulawayo



Mashonaland Central: Bindura

Mashonaland East :Marondera

Mashonaland West :Chinhoyi

Masvingo: Masvingo city

Matabeleland North:Lupane District

Matabeleland South:Gwanda



Zimbabwe Border Posts :

South Africa

  • Beitbridge  24 hours


  • Victoria Falls 06.00 – 22.00
  • Chirundu  06.00 – 18.00
  • Kariba  06.00 – 20.00


  • Plumtree 06.00 – 20.00
  • Kazungula 06.00 – 18.00


  • Forbes Border Post Mutare 06.00 – 18.00
  • Nyamapanda 06.00 – 18.00