iccIn the absence of one-day international captain Elton Chigumbura, who is in India playing for Caribbean Premier League champions Barbados Tridents in the 2014 Oppo Champions League Twenty20 tournament, Test captain Brendan Taylor, former captain Prosper Utseya and senior player Hamilton Masakadza will receive the trophy in Victoria Falls together with ZC chairman Wilson Manase and the resort mayor Sifiso Mpofu.

The trophy will then be taken to the Falls where the three players will be photographed holding one icon with another in the background. The ICC will distribute this photograph worldwide.

The trophy will come to Harare at the end of the day on Tuesday.

It will be taken around the central business district at 9am on Wednesday (October 1 2014)and then be put on display at the home of Zimbabwe cricket, Harare Sports Club, from 10am until 4pm that day.

Zimbabwe is the 12th stopover for the trophy since its journey began on the July 3 this year.

It has so far been to Sri Lanka, India, Bangladesh, England, Wales, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Ireland and Afghanistan, Pakistan and now South Africa.
After Zimbabwe, the trophy will go to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) then Jamaica and Barbados in the West Indies.

After four months round the world, the trophy will arrive in Melbourne, Australia, on November 6 — 100 days before the beginning of the global cricket showpiece.

Zimbabwe is in Pool B of the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup with India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, UAE and the West Indies.

Their first game is against South Africa at Seddon Park in Hamilton, New Zealand, on February 15.

From : Newsday

29 September 2014