ICCThe International Cricket Council’s World Cup trophy will be in Zimbabwe on October 2 as part of the ICC’s plans to have the trophy visit all countries that will participate in next year’s extravaganza to be staged in Australia and New Zealand.

The first stopover for the trophy will be Sri Lanka who won the tournament when they jointly hosted the competition with India and Pakistan in 1996.

The trophy is expected in Colombo on Friday and will be on a three day tour of the country where it will be received by six members of the World Cup winning squad, namely Marvan Atapattu, Upul Chandana, Aravinda de Silva, Hashan Tillerkaratne, Chaminda Vaas and Pramodaya Wickramsinghe.

Also this month, the trophy will visit Bangladesh on 25 and 26 July.

Bangladesh’s first match is against qualifiers Afghanistan at Manuka Oval, Canberra, on 18 February.

After visiting 12 countries over four months, the trophy will arrive in Melbourne, Australia, on 6 November in time for the 100 days before the tournament roars into life.

The current trophy was created for the 1999 champion, Australia, and was the first permanent prize in the tournament’s history. Prior to this, different trophies were made for each ICC Cricket World Cup.

The World Cup runs from February 14 to March 29 next year. Zimbabwe are in the same group with powerhouses India and South Africa.

From : Zimbabwe Situation

4 July 2014