road in livingstonePhase 1 of the national road tolling program will start on 1 November 1, tolling classes II, III, IV, V and VI. These vehicles will be required to pay toll at Zambia’s 17 ports of entry (clockwise from Chirundu, Kariba, Livingstone, Kazungula, Katima Mulilo, Chavuma, Jimbe, Kasumbalesa, Tshisenda, Mokambo, Sakania, Chembe, Nakonde, Lundazi, Mwami (Chipata), Chanida and Luangwa, although some of these are unlikely to see many vehicles, and at eight weighbridges (Kafue, Kapiri Mposhi, Kafulafuta, Solwezi, Mpika, Mwami (Chipata), Livingstone and Kazungula).

The Road Development Agency has not specified when phase 2, which will include light vehicles (class I) will commence. Presumably the second phase will take off once the construction of 18 new toll gates has been completed. By then, motorists will be required to pay a toll whenever they venture onto the Great North Road and the Great East Road.

map of zambiaSelected tolling points:

Lusaka going North

Katuba (outside Kabwe), ZNS Kabwe, Kapiri Mposhi, Kafulafuta, Mwanawasa Stadium (Ndola), Kamfinsa (Kitwe), Ganerton (Kitwe), Chingola, Solwezi turnoff (Chingola), Solwezi, Konkola, Mpika, Mwenzo

Lusaka going South

Shimabala (Kafue), Turnpike (between Lusaka and Mazabuka), Chirundu, Nega-Nega turnoff (outside Mazabuka), Kapinga, Choma, Livingstone, Kazungula, Sesheke

Lusaka going East

Chongwe, Luangwa, Chipata

Toll fees are to be paid at each and every toll site – and that can add up, especially considering that toll is being applied to roads with no alternative route from A to B (which is the custom in most of the world).

Vehicles exempt from paying tolls include the president’s and vice-president’s motorcades, military vehicles, authorized emergency vehicles, and road contractors.

From :

Source: Zambia Weekly

28 October 2013